The Orange Grove was one of several areas built by Treasury Department between Cape Canaveral and Cape Florida for rescue and sustenance of shipwrecked. It was named for the wild sour orange grove nearby. The first keeper of the house, H.D. Pierce, arrived with family May 1876. Stephen N. Andrews was last keeper, who cared for the grove from from September 1877 to October 1, 1896. The area’s first post office, Zion, was located in the Orange Grove House from 1888 to 1892, with Mrs. Annie E. Andrews acting as postmaster. The House burned March 2, 1927 but one may visit the area, on North A1A, and enjoy our beautiful beach and historic past.
Sources: Jonathan Dickinson Chapter National Society, Daughters of the American Revolution In Cooperation With The Florida Historical Society and the Florida Board of Parks and Historic Memorials.
Marc D. Thompson, owner of VirtuGen, is a prominent genealogist with a background in writing, poetry & family history research. He combines traditional genealogical research methods with cutting edge internet methodology, while using multiple computers to produce the fastest, most accurate results. Along with over 25 years of experience, he draws from thousands of techniques to provide detailed results. His published works have appeared in Fighting Chance Magazine, Love’s Chance Magazine, Northern Stars Magazine, Offerings, Poetry Motel, Suzerian Enterprises and The Pink Chameleon. His published books offered at http://www.marcdthompson.net/fitness-books/genealogy-books/